The Customer is NOT Always Right
Misadventures in Retail

Friends Don’t Let Friends Shoplift High

Returns is a funny place sometimes. You never know who is going to try to pull a scam. A few weeks ago I was called up by my returns cashier to approve (or not) a return. When I arrived at the desk I saw a tall, lanky “gentleman” with bloodshot eyes who kept licking his lips and could not stand still. He also tried his hardest not to make eye contact with me. The items he was returning were all the same, about 20 of them, at I think about 6 bucks apiece. They were small enough to fit in a pocket (Which is what he had pulled them out of, according to my cashier) and no security tags are put on them. An easy target for a shoplifter.

When a return such as this is attempted with no receipt it flags the transaction and the cashier cannot continue without a manager override. When the override code is put in it pops up a screen showing all of the “no receipt transactions” that the person in question has done. Looking at this, I saw that an alarming number of the same item had been returned.

“Do you have a receipt at home anywhere?” I asked.
“Nope” was all he said, looking away from me.
“Well I cannot approve the return at this time without one.”
“I need to return these, I don’t have a receipt.” He said, as if he had just come in.
“I understand that sir” I replied. “But I cannot approve this without a receipt. So why don’t you go see if you can find it. If you do I will be more than happy to refund you.” The man nodded and picked up the items.

As he turned to leave My cashier muttered under his breath (or at least it was supposed to be) “Maybe you should lay off the drugs too.”

The man hung his head and said “Yeah.”

It was in that “I’m ashamed” tone of voice.

You have no idea how hard it was to keep from laughing until he left.

3 Responses to “Friends Don’t Let Friends Shoplift High”

  1. This is a great blog so far. Enjoying the stories and facepalming myself. Probably shouldn’t ever mention exactly where you work, or if this gets too popular you will be terminated or made to stop. Like the starbucks blogs. Would also be unfortunate/funny if one of your customers stumbles across this blog…but it doesn’t sound like many of them are…*cough* in the know?? Anyway, keep up the good work and if I think of any of my experiences in the past I”ll foward a good story to you. Cheers

  2. Thanks for the comment. Glad you enjoyed the blog. Be sure to come back. I’m going to try to post at least once a day. Bring your friends 😀

    And be sure to comment if you think of any experiences to share.

  3. This is classic stuff :).

    I love how you remain professional even in the face of a wide variety of idiots.

    Oh, I just got off the phone with a friend who was telling me about her day–do the idiots have to be customers? Do the stories count if your are the customer dealing with a truly moronic employee–I hope so cause I’ve got a good one ;).


Leave a Reply

