The Customer is NOT Always Right
Misadventures in Retail

Our Bags Aren’t Stupid, You Are.

So, the other day I was working at the returns desk (for those of you who don’t know, cuz a lot of customers don’t seem to, that is where you return things that you don’t need, want, or are broken. You wouldn’t believe how many times people come up to a regular cash register lane to return something. How long have you people been shopping that you don’t know what a returns desk is? Do you go up to the register at wal mart and do that?). A grumpy looking old man came up to my register. He was holding what looked like a gift bag with black paint splotches all over it.

“Do you have a return?” I asked, simply because he was just staring at me clearly wanting me to ask him that or something along those lines.

“Let me tell you what this is” he responded, becoming suddenly animated. As if I had just flipped his switch to ON. “The other day I came in and bought some Heat resistant grill paint for my barbecue grill, I was walking across my deck to use it and the bag broke.” He paused and looked up at me and I nodded to show I was listening. “Now what I want you to do is get me another can of paint, and two rolls of paper towels to replace the ones I had to use to clean my deck. Then I want some kind of reimbursement for fixing the deck.”

I was trying to understand why exactly I owed all of that to him, so I paraphrased his request back to him. “You dropped the paint on your deck and want a new can?”

“Plus two rolls of paper towles and reimbursement for fixing it.” He replied.

“Well I don’t see how you dropping the paint at home was our fault.” I responded as politely as possible.

“It was in your bag, which broke. I have it right here if you want to look at it”

Now, I know it’s tragic when you spill paint on your deck, but how in the world do you justify it being the fault of the store you bought it from because you decided to carry a can of paint in a plastic shopping bag instead of by it’s handle? Especially after you had already owned it for a couple of days. I wanted to laugh at him, I really did. But instead I called the Manager on duty at the time (Who was really only a department supervisor covering a lunch) and explained the situation to him.
He ended up letting the guy have another can of paint, but refused the paper towels and reimbursement.

When I questioned him as to why he let him have the paint he responded “Sometimes we have to accept partial blame even if it isn’t our fault.

In the words of a kangaroo I saw in an animation once, “WTF mate?”

One Response to “Our Bags Aren’t Stupid, You Are.”

  1. Boy ol boy. I really do not have anything against old people, but I hate my grandpa and this just brought him to mind.

    That old man is a menace. Just find solace in the knowledge that he’ll be dead before you (if luck holds, that is.)


Leave a Reply

